Share survey results privately using a link
There are many cases in which you need to share all collected data with another person, in details.
The person could be your client, your boss, or supervisers. For such situation, SurveyLegend enables
you to send them a private link that is activated or deactivated on your demand. This method of sharing
the results is very useful for further analysis of survey data. The biggest advantage of sharing your
survey data with using this method is that you do not have to keep the recipients up-to-date with latest
changes in the statistics. Because you are sending them to a Live Analytics page, they will be able
to see the survey results in real-time. Let’s say you send this link to your client or supervisor, and
they can just keep themselves up to date with latest changes. It is an amazing feature and saves lots
of time for you and for them. Additionally, if you give them the option, they can even download the
collected data at any time they visit the private link. You have the full controll to disable the download
possibility, or totally shut down the private link.
In this article: How to activate • How it works • Letting them download the data • Respondents’ privacy • How to deactivate How activate this function
You can activate this feature at any time you wish, to safely send the link to whomever you like. Just make sure that you do not publish this link publicly on the internet! If you wish to share the survey information with random people, please use SurveyLegend’s Public Results link instead. To enable this function, you can choose your survey from the list, or go to the of the respective survey, and then just follow the following instructions:Clicking on Share Data button gives you options of sharing your surveys privately or publicly.
- Find the button in your dashboard, or on the top the Action Bar in Live Analytics.
-
Right under there, you will notice a setting called “Share Private Results link
“. You can easily enable this by toggling the ON/OFF button.
- Enabling this setting will generate a link to the Private Results of the survey. You can copy the link and send it to the recipients.
Enabling recipients to download survey data
If you want to give the recipients the options to download survey results, you can enable “Private visitors can export the resultsNote:
When you enable them to download or export your survey data, they can only export it to their
own Google Drive by giving permission to SurveyLegend app to access their Google Drive. Your
account on Google Drive will not be affected in any way; and this feature will work for your
recipients, even if you yourself do not have a Google account, or have not connected your
Google Account to SurveyLegend.
What about privacy of my respondents?
For SurveyLegend, privacy and security of
surveyors and respondents is always the first priority. So we have have made another way of sharing
survey data as well, which protects your respondents’ personally identifiable information. If you wish
to share your survey data publicly, we strongly recommend you to use our “Public Results link”. However, when you use this method of sharing with ‘Private Results link’, you can be totally
relaxed. Because all data transmissions are encrypted and secure, and go through an HTTPS
connection. So no one can reach the data on the way. But be careful when using this feature,
because anyone who gets this link can see the ‘full summary’ of collected data in realtime; and –
if you allow them – even download the data. Anyone who visits this link, can see how every
participant has answered to your questions, where they are from, what their IP addresses are.
Participants might even share their personal information with you by answering your survey
questions. Make sure not to missue their trust.
Note:
It is your personal responsibility to protect your respondents’ data! Do not share the private
link, publicly with third parties if your respondents have provided you with their personal
information such as names, emails, addresses, phone numbers, etc… Doing so can result in
violating our Terms & privacy, and we might be obligated
to suspend or close your account.
Tip:
A good idea is to diactivate the Private Results link, when you are done. This way, the link
cannot be reached anymore, unless you enable it manually again.